Getting started

I have felt the call on my heart from the Lord to homeschool my children for two years now, and I am happy to say that after a lot of prayer, research, and discussion, the door has finally opened. We begin our adventure now, and I am looking forward to the years to come. As a former classroom teacher, I know a lot about education, but teaching your own two children is quite different from teaching a classroom full of other people’s kids. So far, things are going well, and we are finding a groove. The boys are making progress and, for the most part, seem to be enjoying themselves. They haven’t complained a whole lot about missing school, which I am happy about, and my husband is enjoying having us around. Since we are starting late in the year, we are doing the the first unit of TOG year 2. I thought the knights/vikings/etc. would be fun for them. It’s a different way of doing history than my boys are used to, but they are doing well and I am very surprised at how much they are retaining. My youngest was able to tell me all about Mohammed today, and I wasn’t sure he was even listening as we were reading! Next week, we get into week 4 (Vikings) and I know he is going to love that! We have an eclectic mix of curriculum, from TOG to Apologia Astronomy and different textbooks for math/reading/spelling/ etc. We are using Explorers Bible study, and that is going well. I have my older son doing the Words of Wisdom book, which includes a study of Proverbs which my husband and I are studying in our Lifegroup from church, so that is nice.

Anyway, that’s the scoop on what’s going on. I’m going to try to post at the end of each week, just for a record of our progress, and as I formulate plans for next year…..

Leave a Reply

