week in review/thoughts

We completed week 3 of the first unit of TOG year 2 and I have to say I am impressed with all my children remembered. Both kids did excellent with their quizzes and the discussions we had were amazing. I am really liking how all the different stuff you do in TOG weaves together and how both kids are on the same topic, but using different stuff suited to their ages to study it! My older son is gifted, and I am using a mix of upper grammar/dialectic materials with him and I feel he is really being challenged. We are also doing the lapbooks, which provides them with material to “present” to daddy at the end of the week. I believe we are going to continue with Unit 3 over the summer, but I plan to add in material from the Home school in the Woods Time Travelers series, since my kids are pretty hands-on. We are only going to work on history over the summer and get back into regular academics when we start school again in the fall. Right now, we have one week until spring break, and I am entering grades in Homeschool Skedtrack to finish up our week. Next week we get into Charlemagne, and then take a week off before we tackle vikings! My kids are using CLE for math and reading, althought next year I think we may switch to BJU as my kids need a more mastery type program for math, and they need some color pictures in their reading. I am also planning to add in IEW for writing and possibly use All About Spelling for my youngest, because he really needs help in that area! I’m in research mode right now, since my homeschool convention comes up in May and I want to be prepared when we go. Looking back on the last 3 weeks, I can say that I am so thankful to have this opportunity to homeschool my children and I feel more and more it was the right decision for all of us.

Leave a Reply

