Summer Clean Up!

Well, since I am still waiting to order new curriculum until we get some more money together, I decided I would go ahead and start cleaning up all of our old curriculum to make room for the new stuff!! UGH! I have to say, organizing, sorting, packing etc. really isn’t my thing. I was standing in the kitchen looking at all the stuff in our homeschool cabinet thinking “Where on Earth did all this stuff come from? And why did I think I would need it all!! πŸ™‚ ” (ever been there?)

I called one of my homeschool friends and she said she feels the same way. With this being my first full year homeschooling, I admit I went a little overboard with curriculum! I just wanted to be sure I didn’t *miss* anything, and I was so excited about finally homeschooling I let my feelings run away with me. One of my goals this year is to simplify. Obviously we will still focus on all the major subjects, but I want to pare things down a bit to make more room for impromptu fun! Instead of trying to shove three electives into our day, I’m letting my boys choose one extra they really want to learn about and that’s it. I’m hoping this will remove some stress from me, as I often feel this pressure to “get everything done”….it’s like I sometimes forget the biggest reason we homeschool…to just be together.

I want to enjoy this journey, not run around like a crazed woman trying to cram too much into one school day! My kids are learning, very well in fact, so I’m just going to try to relax this year and not go crazy with curriculum….(although I do so love to look at everything πŸ™‚ )

Leave a Reply

