Vacation!!!

We just got back from a wonderful week in the mountains of western NC. It was really nice to disconnect for a little bit and just have some family time! 🙂 We hiked, and swam, and my kids were even brave enough to try out Sliding Rock, even though the water was a chilly 48 degrees!! (That’s REALLY REALLY cold to people from Florida!!).

I was also able to spend some time reading by the pool and out on the balcony. Currently I am enjoying Beyond Survival. A Guide to Abundant Life Homeschooling by Diana Waring. It’s a good book to get me inspired to start school again next month. I’m enjoying the refresher on learning styles, which I do already know about, but need to give more thought to. I think that’s a topic I am going to do more research on in the coming weeks while I plan for next year. Both of my boys have different learning styles from each other (one is an intuitor/kinesthetic learner, the other is more of a feeler/visual learner). Unfortunately, I am more of a “thinker”, so my style doesn’t always mesh with theirs 😉

This is something I want to improve on for next year. I think I did a fairly good job of trying to adjust to my boys styles of learning, but I could still do more. It’s true that I find that when they are learning in their “zone” things are so much easier for all of us, but I have to fight the impulse to just do things my way. (Which isn’t easy!!)

So, I’ve still got about 5 weeks left to plan, as we will return to school about August 15. I should have curriculum rolling in soon, and I’m beginning to get excited!!

2 thoughts on “Vacation!!!

    • It was. I’ve been going to this same place since I was 7 years old, and it’s nice to able to share it with my kids! We live on the beach, so it’s great to be able to see something different on vacation!!

Leave a Reply

