Panic! (and then some encouragment)

So I met with one of my homeschool friends at the beach the other day, and we were talking about next year.  Both of us are having difficulty getting motivated to start the prep work, and the school year is only about 5 weeks away now!! I think for me, the big issue is sorting through all my curriculum choices and trying to decide on the best one.

I am very thankful to have sooooo very many options as a homeschooler, but the sheer amount of options is part of what makes deciding so hard! Then there’s the pressure that leads to my panic…..what if I choose the wrong material and my child doesn’t learn? What if he falls behind in math/reading/science etc. etc. etc…..it goes on and on. Honestly, sometimes it feels like there’s a voice in  my head just trying to talk me out of homeschooling.

In discussing this with my friend, she shared with me a devotional she had read about how satan uses our thoughts/feelings/insecurities/doubts about ourselves etc. to discourage us from following the path God has put us on. It’s often those times that we are on the Lord’s path that our struggles seem their toughest, but that’s when we need to cling to God most, and stay true to what He has called us to do.

We both spent time in prayer, and after that I felt much better. We decided we are going to get together next week and sort through all of our curriculum choices together. I think it will be motivating for me to have someone there to discuss it with, and also helpful to have someone to bounce ideas off of. Today, I am very grateful for the support of fellow homeschoolers, because I know that this would be so very much harder without them!

2 thoughts on “Panic! (and then some encouragment)

Leave a Reply

