E-mealz (or, what’s for dinner mom?)

E-mealz is an internet service that offers weekly menu plans, complete with recipes and a grocery shopping list!! This is great for the busy mom who has multiple things to do. The site was created by two moms, who understand that often, there just aren’t  enough hours in the day for all we have to do!

The menu plan choices vary, but you can get a 7-day plan to feed a family of 4-6, or a 5-day two person plan if you want. You can choose a general plan, or one based on a local grocery story if you wish. They also have specialty plan options, such as gluten-free, low-carb, vegetarian etc. etc. Basically, no matter how you like to eat, E-mealz has a menu plan for you! Each week, a new menu is posted, which you can download and print out. The menu itself is on a grid, with each day’s recipe and ingredients listed. The second page of the menu is your shopping list. It lists all the items you need to buy (staples, like vinegar, ketchup, etc. are listed at the bottom) complete with the price! The best part is, the menu is planned around the sales at the grocery store.

I choose the menu plan for Publix, as I live in Florida and that is the place I shop the most. I also saw menu plans for WalMart, Krogers, and a few other places. You can also just pick a general menu that is not tied to a specific store. My weekly menus ran about $80.00 per week. I will say that not EVERY item on the list was the exact price listed on the menu, and I know some of the other crew members found the same thing, but I think that is just because food prices vary from region to region. For the most part, the dinners were inexpensive, and didn’t run me any higher than my usual grocery budget.

The weekly menu usually consisted of some type of crock pot or slow cooker meal, a vegetarian option or two, and some sandwiches as well. I found the recipes could be easily adapted. We are not vegetarian, but it wasn’t difficult for me to add some meat to the dishes on the menu. I didn’t make every meal on the list, because there were some I knew my family wouldn’t like (i.e. Cheesy Tuna Cakes…we’re not big tuna eaters here), but I will say, even if I only made about 4 of the meals, I still feel the service was worth it! Some days are just so busy, I don’t want to have to think about dinner, and E-mealz kind of gave me a “go-to” list of dishes that didn’t require a lot of time and effort!

I think our favorite meal was the beans and rice. We eat a lot of beans/rice/Spanish food in our house, and this recipe was tasty!! I did add chicken to it (I just added the meat from the rotisserie chicken I had gotten from Publix for a meal we had  the night before), but it was easily done. It was served with a tomato and cucumber salad that my kids just loved!! (Who knew I could get them to eat cucumber? 🙂 ) This is a picture of the meal that my son took!

We also enjoyed the turkey-pineapple sandwiches (another combination I never would have thought of!), the wild rice and chicken, the potato soup, and many other dishes as well.

E-mealz only costs $5.00 per week, which I think is a GREAT deal! You are billed $15.00 every 3 months, and you have the option of cancelling the automatic renewal from your account prior to your next billing date. To me, this cost is well worth it! I’ve already recommended it to several of my friends. If you would like to check out, go to the website here and have a look:
https://e-mealz.com/

**Disclaimer: I was given a free subscription to this website for the purpose of writing this review. All opinions expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

