Adventures in Legoland!!

So I have one child (my youngest boy) who is a Lego FANATIC!! He’s been this way since he was about 3 years old. He can put together one of those super-big Star Wars kits, in a day! And, he is constantly building new creations of his own (“Mom, come look, I have the Eiffel Tower in my room!”). So of course, this boy has been waiting to the grand opening of Legoland Florida since he first read about it in a Lego magazine….a few years ago!!

This was the year of the big grand opening, and naturally, all we have heard at my house is “When are we going?”. The thing is, Legoland is  theme park. And theme parks are expensive!! Imagine my surprise, (and my son’s joy), when I found out our homeschool group was putting together a Legoland field trip, and the cost was only $5.00 a ticket!!!! Evidently, since this is their first year, the park was offering special field trip rates to educational groups. We signed right up and began counting the days!!

Let me just say, the park itself is amazing! I really had no idea the things that could be done with Legos!! They have this whole “mini” world with scaled Lego models of places (like NYC, Vegas etc) and things (like the Space Shuttle and Nasa!!). There are so many moving parts and such amazing detail, you really need more than one trip to soak it all in. Needless to say, my son got lots of inspiration from this part of the trip!

The rides were also really cool! I was worried my older son (age 13) would be bored, because he’s not that into Lego’s anyway, and I was worried the rides would be aimed at little kids. However, I was pleasantly surprised. The roller coasters were fun for everyone, and they have cool playgrounds, shows, and other rides that were a lot of fun too. I honestly think my oldest had just as much fun as his brother and his friends!!

My son and the other K-6 students also go to participate in a Physics Workshop as part of the Lego Education Program. They built solar powered cars!!

The best part of the trip for me was a visit to the section that was preserved from the old Cypress Gardens theme park. As a Florida native, I have fond memories of visiting this park with my grandparents as a child. The gardens and buildings were so beautiful. Cypress Gardens shut down a while ago, and I was interested to see how Legoland would incorporate that into their new park. The Cypress Gardens section contains some of the gardens (of native Florida plants) and buildings from the original park. It was beautiful. My favorite is the big cypress tree in the middle of this section….it is literally huge!! And it’s so beautiful!

Needless to say, after a very long and fun-filled day, both of my boys fell asleep on the 2 hour drive home!! (Yes, I did say 2-hour drive!! Legoland is located in Winter Haven, which is in the middle of Florida, more toward the south and east side of the state. We live on the East Coast, so it was a LONG drive to get there, but that was the only drawback 🙂 )

Legoland was definitely the best field trip of the year, possibly of any year!! We would love to go back sometime, because there is just so much to see and do!! If you have a Lego fanatic like me, it’s definitely worth the trip!!

2 thoughts on “Adventures in Legoland!!

  1. I am SOOO jealous! We live in NC and I think there is one in Atlanta too?(which is closer to us) We are hugely obsessed…uhh I mean we really like Lego and use it a lot with our homeschool. My husband and daughter make Lego videos on youtube (search SeeJoyRun) Warning some are a little too silly for my taste so consider that my disclaimer.

Leave a Reply

