Influences and Inspirations

The topic for this week’s blog cruise is, “Who inspires you?”….well, I started to think about the various definitions of the word “inspire” and the one that struck me the most was “to influence or impel”. So, who is it that influences or impels me to do what I do each day? There are a few answers to that question.

First and foremost, impel means to drive or move forward, and I would say, I am driven to please the Lord. Proverbs 31 is probably the greatest inspiration to me in how I want to live my life. I strive to be that woman to my family every day….am I always successful?? I wish, but NO, definitely not. However, I do try, and I am thankful that each day is a new chance to try again!!

The single most important influential person in my life, has always been, and always will be, my Nana.

Her name was Ann, and she and my pop-pop raised me from the time I was a baby (I had a kind of crazy, mixed up childhood!). From as far back as I can remember, my nana was the source of all good things in my life. Born in 1920, she was old-fashioned. She worked when she had to, but she also believed that a mothers place was caring for her family, and she did that with gusto!! She was the consummate mom, cooking, cleaning, sewing, shopping, reading, playing…everything!!

I wish I could say I followed her lead in my life from the beginning, but my teenage years were hard. I did not agree with my Nana’s old-fashioned views at all! I was determined to live MY life the way I thought I should. After I got married, she moved in with my husband and I and helped to care for our children while I worked. Believe me, she let me know that she thought I should be at home, but I just shrugged her off. I thought I knew better than she did, but I was wrong.

When the Lord first lay the call to homeschool on my heart, the first person I thought of was my nana. What would she say if I told her I was going to walk away from my job and let my husband handle working while I stayed home and cared for our kids?? I think she would say “Finally!” and I hope she would be proud. She was truly the best woman I have ever known, I miss her tremendously every day, and I find it funny how now, at this point in my life, all I really want to be is just like her!

Finally, my last source of inspiration are these crazy kids of mine ! πŸ™‚

My boys…they simultaneously drive me bananas, and fill my heart with pride. There are moments where I just want to grab them and hold them forever, and others where they make me want to scream. But still, my life would be completely empty without them, and even on our bad days, being with them is still better than being anywhere else. They are the real reason behind what I do. They deserve a good mom, and that is what I am determined to be for them.

So, that is what inspires me. Where do you get your inspiration from? To see what other Crew members had to say about this topic, check out our TOS Crew page here:

http://homeschoolcrew.com/

2 thoughts on “Influences and Inspirations

Leave a Reply

