I have to read in the summer? I thought school was over!!

The topic for the first Blog Cruise of the summer is “summer reading”. This brings many things to mind for me…first, my own school experiences of summer reading programs. Now, I am a reader by nature, and I always have a book or two on my nightstand, but a lot of the time, the books my schools chose for summer reading were just boring!! There were very few that I enjoyed, and I usually put off reading them to read other books I actually liked, and then had to scramble to finish my school books up in the weeks before school started!! NOT a fun experience.

That said, I do think it’s important for kids to read a little every day. I consider it “brain exercise” :). So, yes, I do require both of my boys to read each day, but I do let them choose WHAT they want to read. (During the school year, there are certain novels that are required, but I want summer reading to be fun). With my oldest, this isn’t really a problem because, like me, he LOVES to read. Sometimes he reads so many books so quickly, it’s hard for me to keep up. Currently, he is finishing the Hunger Games series, reading the first book of the Left Behind series, and anxiously awaiting the publication of the next Rick Riordan book!

My youner son, is a different story. He would rather play with his legos than read a book any day. In fact, the most success I’ve had with him and reading have been books about legos. During the school year, I do require him to read novels and chapter books, but in the summer, I ask him to simply give me 15 minutes a day of reading something. Usually, this means he is reading a comic or a Popular Science magazine, but that’s okay, as long as he is reading. He does have some books he enjoys, he likes Star Wars books, and the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series. He also started The 100 Year Old Secret, which is part of a series about Sherlock Holmes grandkids, which he likes too, but for the most part, he is my non-fiction reader (aside from comics).

While we do make a weekly trip to the library, my mother in law got both of the boys Nooks for their birthday this year, and this seems to have added a new dimension of fun to their reading. Sometimes we go to Barnes and Noble and I sit and have a coffee and read magazines (no, sadly, I do NOT have a nook 🙂 ) while they read on their Nooks. For some reason, to my younger son, reading on a computer type device is just cooler than reading an actual book!!

One thing that is required (and surprisingly easy on the Nook) is daily Bible reading. The boys were actually able to download a Bible app on their Nooks that includes a daily reading plan, so before bed, they have to do their Bible reading and devotion.

I like to use my summer to catch up on some pleasure reading as well. I am currently finishing the third Hunger Games book myself, and I am waiting for a book called Close to Shore to come in at the library. It’s about the shark attacks in New Jersey in 1916 (I find that stuff fascinating). I am also going to request the Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Slayer book as well (blushing), yes I like vampires books too!! 🙂 Do you do summer reading at your house? Do you have any good book suggestions for me? Leave a comment if you do. To see what other crew members had to say about this topic, click here:

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

