High School!! Am I ready for this??

Okay, so far our homeschooling journey has gone pretty well! We started three years ago when my oldest son was in 6th grade, and we’ve had fun. My boys test scores always come back fine, and we’ve enjoyed learning and exploring together. I enjoy teaching my boys, and I, usually, feel pretty competent in my ability to do so. But, this next year, we will enter into the area of high school education, and I have to admit, I am nervous.

I know that homeschooling our boys is what the Lord wants me to do, but when I go to bed at night, I am plagued by the nagging thought of whether I can really give them what they need in high school. Upper level math!!! Science!! Credits!! Transcripts!! The thought of these things is enough to cause a panic attack! 🙂

You have to remember, I was what you might call a “reluctant” homeschooler. When I first heard about homeschooling, my oldest was about to enter kindergarten. As a teacher, I admit, I thought the whole idea was kind of…well..strange. Why wouldn’t you send your kids to school? When the Lord laid the call to homeschool my own kids on my heart my first reaction was “really?? are you sure?”. It took a while for me to submit to that idea. Now, of course, I realize it is the exactly right thing for our family, but that wasn’t my first reaction.

So now, here I am, a mathmatically challenged mom who loves reading and history but despised chemistry in high school facing the challenge of teaching these things to my boy. And what about those credits and transcripts?? How do I make sure I am doing what I need to so this boy can go to college (which he definitely wants to)? And what about the umbrella school option? How does that work? I have to say, I do kind of like the idea of having someone to “hold my hand” through this process…so would that be a good way to go?

So, what do I do when these thoughts keep me awake at night? I turn to moms I know who have done this before for advice! I am lucky to have access to homeschoolers who have graduated their children already, and they are the ones I turn to when I am having a meltdown!! The advice I have gotten from them seems to follow a similar theme, “Trust the Lord and have confidence in yourself”. After all, one of my favorite verses is “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways, acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight”. (Prov. 3:5-6). After all, if I believe God called me to homeschool my children then I must also believe he will equip me with the knowledge I need to do so!! Yes, I am still nervous, but I know that is just my flesh talking. God wants my children to succeed even more than I do, and I know He has a specific plan for their lives, so I just really need to remind myself to fall back on Him and wait for his guidance….I just wish this was as easy to do as it is to say! 🙂

For now, I am constantly reminding myself that we are in His hands living in His will, and praying He will lead me to make the right decisions. In the meantime, I am spending some internet time researching the different curriculum and other options available.

One thought on “High School!! Am I ready for this??

  1. Sounds like you are in a good spot. It truly is the best way to think of it. We are going into our 3 year of highschool, and one thing I’ve learned is that there are tons of helps and things online that really help high school children. It just takes a matter of finding what you need for your child. 🙂

Leave a Reply

