I Don’t Have Enough Faith to be an Atheist

Apologia has many amazing products for homeschoolers. I have used a lot of their stuff, and I always really enjoy it. For this review, I got use their book I Don’t Have Enough Faith to be an Atheist with my 9th grade son, along with the accompanying workbook.

This book and workbook set makes up Apologia’s first apologetics curriculum for high schoolers, and I think it fits an important need. Growing my boys hearts for God is the main goal of our homeschool, but as kids get older, they have to begin to form their own beliefs and decide WHY they believe the way they do. This book can help them answer that question.

The book begins a discussion of how we define truth, and moves into the beginnings of life, talk about miracles and the bible, and finally a detailed look into the life of Christ. Along the way, readers are encouraged to look at the objective evidence in support of Christianity, and to also evaluate the most popular arguments against it.

The three major religious worldviews (see above) are compared and contrasted, and students are given examples of ways to respond to non-believers questions. This part is very important in my son’s life right now. On top of the questions he often faces about being homeschooled, he also faces questions about his beliefs. He has friends in the neighborhood who are both Christian and non-Christian. Many of his non-Christian friends often ask him about why he does that “church stuff”. Since he is getting older, I think it is important that he find a way to handle these questions for himself and be able to define what it is he believes and why.

The student notebook is a great companion to the book. There is one section for each chapter. Each one begins with a summary of the key topics of the chapter and a list of vocabulary words. There are questions to encourage children to think about the chapter itself, some brief biographies of people who have influenced the various worldviews, and then further questions and assignments to help them further develop their thinking and further define their own worldviews. There are also downloadable tests for each chapter you can use as well.

My son liked the way the book was written, and the length of the chapters was fine for a 9th grader. We used this curriculum once a week, and I read the book too so my son and I were able to have discussions about it. I learned a lot through this as well. I think this is a great curriculum for a high schooler who is looking to learn how to defend his faith.

The soft cover book costs $16.00 and the workbook costs $33.00. I think they are both definitely worth the price! You can learn more about these products at the Apologia website here:

https://apologia.securesites.net/

To see what other members of the crew had to say about this product, click here:
Photobucket

**Disclaimer: I was given a free copy of this product for the purpose of writing this review. All opinions expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

