Family Time Fitness

We all know physical activity is important for kids. Not only does it matter for health reasons, but I also believe that regular physical activity can help kids learn. It reduces stress, allows active kids to get their “wiggles” out, and is just plain fun!! However, I have to admit, that making time for (and planning!!) P.E. (aside from when my kids go swimming in the pool) is difficult for me!! That is why I LOVE Family Time Fitness! Their program does all the difficult work for you, and you just get to have fun. 🙂

Family Time Fitness is an award-winning program, and it’s easy to see why. The Core 1 K-8 curriculum I got to review was very easy to implement, and so much fun for me and my kids. Lessons run about 45-60 minutes if you do everything. Both of my kids participated in the activities, even though my older son is a 9th grader, and I have to say, this has become one of their favorite parts of our homeschool days. They get to go outside and run, jump, play games etc. etc., all the things two active boys need to do.

We began with the fitness assessment, which included activities like a long jump, a run, balance activities etc. I recorded their results on the assessment tracking chart, to save for when we do it again. After that, we moved on to the lessons. Lessons plans are very clearly spelled out, you simply print the page, and go. If you are unsure how to do an activity, there are links to youtube videos that show examples (really!! Can they make it any easier??).

The basic lesson includes a warm-up, game play, a cool down, and then an outside activity. Obviously, if the weather prevents you from going outside, or there are other limitations, you can choose how much you do, but even doing some of the activities will get your kids moving!! As a mom, I will tell you I had a lot of fun participating in these activities with my kids. We played games like Monkey in the Middle, and I even won the jump rope contest! (Go Moms!! 🙂 ). I think that was probably the best part of Family Time Fitness for me, just taking time to actually PLAY with my boys. With one in high school, I feel like our days are so busy, and I get so caught up in getting our school stuff done, and cooking, and cleaning…I forget to have fun! Having a program like this scheduled as part of our day gives me some time to laugh and be silly too. (and I think we all need that every now and then.)

Another good thing about this program is that it uses a lot of stuff you already have around the house, and even if you don’t, you can easily make substitutions (i.e., those splash balls we throw in the pool can stand in for bean bags). I did purchase hula hoops and some jump ropes, but I got them at the dollar store, so I maybe spent $10 total buying materials for this program. I think that’s reasonable, as is the cost of Family Time Fitness. The program that we used costs $57.00. That’s it!! For that price you get all 260 lessons. This is a program I would definitely tell anyone to purchase if you are looking for a simple way to get some more physical activity into your kids lives. You can find out more about Family Time Fitness at their website:

http://familytimefitness.com/Default.html

To see what other members of the crew had to say about this program, click here:
Photobucket

**Disclaimer: I was given free access to this program for the purpose of writing this review. All opinions expressed are my own.

2 thoughts on “Family Time Fitness

  1. Pingback: Homeschool Play | kingdomacademyhomeschool

Leave a Reply

