Our Year So Far….(maybe it’s not going to be so bad)

Well, we are officially 5 weeks into our new school year, and I have to admit, it is going MUCH smoother than I expected!! As I have mentioned before, my oldest son started high school this year, and that was a HUGE source of anxiety for me!! However, now that we have actually started, I feel much more relaxed.

We are using MFW Ancients for our main curriculum, and now that we’ve had some time to really work with it, I have to say I am REALLY impressed!! I love how it weaves together the Bible, History, and English studies. I love how it helps my son make connections between all three. I love how he is able to grab his planner and go, and confer with me as he works, but not need me there to hold his hand every step of the way!! (I think this is really important as kids start high school, they need to take more ownership for their work, in order to get ready for life after they graduate).

Math is still a bit of a struggle, but he is making progress, and his other subjects are going well too. It helps that I started making his own planner pages this year, so he knows exactly what to do each day and only needs to come to me with questions. In fact, he has even said “Mom, school is so much more organized this year!!” 🙂 (I think I’ve mentioned before…organization is NOT one of my strengths!).

My 6th grade son is doing really well with his planner too. He is very motivated to finish school as quickly as possible. Generally, he gets up, grabs his planner, and completes his individual work first, and then we do our “together” subjects (Bible, History and Science). As always, I check up on him as he is working and answer questions as they come up.

So, now that we have had time to settle into a groove, I feel so much better about school this year!! I think I was really just getting myself all worked up, with my own concerns about “doing high school right” and “balancing everything”. I’ve realized now that it is definitely not as difficult as I thought I was going to be, and that is a huge relief. I really think this is going to be one of our best years so far. I know we will still have “bumps” along the way, but that always happens. At least now I know I CAN do high school, and my sons WILL learn what they need!! I hope your school year is off to a good start as well!

2 thoughts on “Our Year So Far….(maybe it’s not going to be so bad)

  1. Stopping by from the Crew!
    That’s wonderful that your year is going so well right now! Our year has gotten off to a rough start with attitude issues and lack of planning on my part. But things are turning around and it’s getting a little easier. It’s amazing to have those great homeschool days when it just encourages you to press on. Keep up the good work! : )

Leave a Reply

