5 Days of Preparing for the Holidays Blog Hop: Decorating

Welcome to the first day of the blog hop!! Our topic today is decorating, which is one of my favorite things to do!! The holidays are my favorite time of year, and I start getting excited around the end of October!! πŸ™‚ For Halloween we have pumpkins, for Thanksgiving, scarecrows..and for Christmas, well, there’s a lot!! We have a tradition in our family where we always go get our Christmas Tree the day after Thanksgiving. My hubby and I started this tradition the first year we were married, because there was a Christmas Tree lot right at the entrance to our apartment complex!! Of course, choosing a tree is often difficult (seriously, it reminds me of the scene from A Christmas Story πŸ™‚ ), but it is always fun. I do wish we could go to a farm and cut down a tree of our own, but we live in Florida, and there aren’t a whole lot of places to do that around here. However, every year we go to NC for summer vacations, and we see lots of little trees growing on the farms. We always wonder if the one we picked comes from there!

Our tree decorations are a mix of family heirlooms (some passed down for generations) and newer ornaments we have added through the years. Each year since my boys were 5 years old, I take them to the store (usually Hallmark) and allow them each to pick out one ornament. I write their name and year on the box, and they always enjoy putting these special ornaments up. I figure, when they grow up and get married and have a tree of their own, I can give them these ornaments to put on it. I remember the first Christmas my hubby and I had together, neither of us had a lot of ornaments of our own, so I thought this would be a nice way for them to bring some of their childhood to their own Christmas tree.

We also have a large collection of Santa’s (mostly from my mom, she used to work at the Cracker Barrel and gave a lot of their stuff as gifts). But the decorations that mean the most to me are probably ones that were handed down from my nana. I have these little porcelain “Merri-Bells” that she gave me that are very special. I remember playing with them when I was young, and they always make me think of her.

My boys are now big enough to help my hubby with the lights, so putting them up has been a family affair for the last couple of years. I am not a very “crafty” person (I wish I was), but thanks to a friend who introduced me to Pinterest I have found a lot of great (and easy) decorating ideas I really want to try!! Check this out for example:

The directions for this project can be found here:

http://pearls-handcuffs-happyhour.blogspot.com/2009/11/ornament-wreath-101.html. And there are tons of other decorating ideas like that on the site. If you haven’t checked Pinterest out yet, you should. If you would like to follow me, click here:

http://pinterest.com/brandymbrock/

The fun of decorating for the holidays for me is the time I get to spend with my family, and the anticipation it builds for the holidays itself. If you have any great decorating ideas, leave me a comment. Make sure you check out the rest of posts on the blog hop to see how other people decorate for the holidays!

Photobucket

And come back tomorrow to hear how I cook for the holidays (it’s a little non-traditional πŸ™‚ )

6 thoughts on “5 Days of Preparing for the Holidays Blog Hop: Decorating

  1. That idea with buying your children ornaments each year sounds nice. We have hardly any bought ornaments on our tree, they are all family heirloom type ornaments. We don’t do a real tree, but we have always put our tree up the day after Thanksgiving. It’s a tradition that my teenage children still love to do. πŸ™‚

  2. I think it is so nice that you have heirloom ornaments for your tree. All of ours are ones we have made or purchased after we were married. Each year, our children do get/make a new ornament, so I will be using your idea of giving the ornaments to them once they get married. Such a good idea! Thanks for sharing!

  3. I’ve been going to Pinterest for holiday ideas as well – it’s so handy! And I’m glad to find somebody else who is a “day after Thanksgiving” Christmas person. πŸ™‚

  4. I love making our own Christmas ornaments as well as choosing special ornaments that represent what we’ve done as a family that year. Christmas is my favorite time of year!

Leave a Reply

