Looking beyond the boxes and bags.

Ahhh, Christmas! The twinkly lights, the smell of the Christmas tree and cookies baking in the oven. Carols on the radio, crowds at the store, wrapping paper and bows. I love this season, and I love all of those things that make this time of year so much fun. But, I also think it is important to remind ourselves, as Christians, what this holiday is really for. It is SO easy for me to get caught up in all the “normal” Christmas activities, that I leave very little energy for myself to focus on the MOST important thing: Jesus. Most often, I find myself exhausted and grumpy as the actual holiday draws near, and I really think this is because I allow all the other “stuff” to overshadow the Lord.

For the last couple of years, I have made more of an effort to spend these days drawing closer to God. In the past, we’ve done a Jesse Tree and some other devotionals I got from my local library. I try to set a time aside each evening in December before the kids go to bed to read these devotionals and maybe do a little activity before listening to a story. My kids have enjoyed this a lot! This year, we are using my sons nook and a Bible app he downloaded. It actually has a lot of Christmas devotionals, and we decided to do the one focused on Christmas Carols. We listen to the carol together, then read and discuss the bible passage and message. So far we’ve done Joy to the World, and we really read the lyrics and talked about how Jesus brought joy to all of us.

I am also committing myself to spending time each morning doing my own devotional, focused around the prophecies leading up to Jesus birth and how his life fulfilled these prophecies. I am finding my prayer time is much more focused, and I have a sense of peace this Christmas season that I didn’t before. Of course, all that other Christmas stuff will still need to be done, but it is less stressful when I keep in mind the TRUE reason for celebration!!

I am writing this post as part of a blog series about Advent. There will be a new post each week this month. To join up, and see what other bloggers had to say on this topic, click here:

Thank you to Trish at A House Upon the Rock and Laura at Day by Day in Our World for hosting!

2 thoughts on “Looking beyond the boxes and bags.

  1. I love reflections that help us focus on Christ and not the craziness the world projects for Christmas.

    Thank you so much for sharing and linking up with the 40 Days of Seeking Him meme.

Leave a Reply

