Where We’ve Been

Is it possible? Can it really be 2013 already?? What happened to 2012?? You know, when my mom said the years go by faster as you get older, she wasn’t kidding!! Here we are, another year in the books, and a new one facing us again. This is the time we naturally reflect on where we’ve been and look ahead to where we are going. So, as I look back on 2012, what do I see?

The loss of the house we built in and lived in for 14 years…and then the move to a great new house in an amazing neighborhood. Giving up a car, a boat, and other things we have worked and slaved for…but gaining time as a family, and a lot less bills. Illness, surgery, struggle…the loss of a few very good and close friends…but a gain of patience, faith, and an appreciation for each new morning.

My oldest still hates algebra, but he’s doing better at it. My youngest still doesn’t like to read, but he’s getting better at that too. My oldest is becoming more and more skilled at guitar, and my youngest on drums. They have both stepped up in their bible reading and journaling, and their hearts seem to be more turned to God every day.

I stared the year off in August organized, excited and efficient…then somewhere around November the blahs set in and I struggled with just getting our school work together on a day to day basis. I felt like I was failing….but then we spent the holidays with family, and they were again impressed with depths of knowledge my kids have. I guess when you’re in the trenches day to day it’s easy to lose sight of the “big picture”. My kids are growing, and learning. They can read, write and do math. They can even discuss history, politics and science. But the most important thing is they have a knowledge of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, and they are filled with a deep desire to live for Him. What is more important than that??

I can still pick out things I want to improve. I have to get back to planning ahead and being organized. Yes, it is difficult for me, but it makes our weeks go so much smoother. I need to be less easily frustrated, and yell less (yes, I am ashamed to admit it, but I have my “loud mommy” moments when I have said something for the gazillionth time and it gets ignored). I want to streamline my housework so I can stress less and laugh more. And no, it doesn’t seem like the price of groceries is going to go down this year, nor is my hubby’s paycheck likely to go up…but I believe God has this firmly in hand and it is going to be okay!!

I guess when I look back on 2012, that’s what is most apparent to me. God’s hand, being active in our every day life. There are months when our bank account was still in the red, but we made it. At one point, I didn’t think we were ever going to be able to start school, but then, by a miracle, I was able to get some books! My hubby spent the first six months of the year with a knee injury and then had to have surgery, but we managed to get by. This was a year of truly throwing our lives into God’s hands, and He came through. It was a great lesson in “walking by faith” that ALL of us learned, and it helps me to look forward to 2013 knowing that God is with us, and whatever we face we will get through. I am looking forward to this year!! Happy New Year to all of you!!

To see what other members of the crew had to say about 2012, check out the blog cruise here:

Photobucket

One thought on “Where We’ve Been

  1. Pingback: 2012: A Look Back {a Blog Cruise} | Schoolhouse Review Crew

Leave a Reply

