This year I resolve…

I hate New Year’s resolutions!! Every year it’s the same thing…”I’m going to lose weight”, “I”m going to be more organized” etc. etc. Yet, every year, I always fall short. Sure, I start off strong, running every day, eating healthy, cleaning out my closets. But then, a month or so into the year, life just seems to get in the way, and all my lofty goals fall by the wayside! Well, I decided that this year is going to be different. This year, I am setting goals for myself…but I’m going to be a little more general this time.

My main goal for this year is to simply focus more on my health. It seems like every year I am busy making sure my hubby and kids are healthy, but I rarely do the same for me. So this is my year!! I WILL get my mammogram done for the first time, and I am going to go to the doctor for a checkup and get bloodwork done too, and I even plan to go to the dentist. Small things, but things that get easily put off. As I get older, I realize that taking care of myself is more and more important, and if problems are detected early, they are often easier to treat, so that is my first step.

With our change in insurance this year, we got a free gym membership, and I plan to use it. My goal isn’t specifically to lose weight, because that just seems to put a lot of excess pressure on my shoulders. I simply want to feel like I am getting more exercise. If I do lose weight, that will be awesome 🙂 but if not, that’s okay. I just want to get out there and do something.

I am also planning to change our shopping habits. Less snacks and more healthy stuff. I figure if it’s not in the house, I can’t eat it!! Our garden is doing well and I like having fresh veggies to cook with. I am spending more time on thoughtful meal planning, and having my older son help me with the cooking, so we don’t fall into the “lets just order a pizza” trap!!

I want this year to be the year I started to focus on taking care of myself. I don’t know why I haven’t done it before. Maybe it’s just a mom thing. We get so busy with all the other stuff we have to do, that we think about ourselves last. The problem is, my health is important to my family. I need to take care of myself so I can take care of them and do the things I need to do to make our household run.

So, no failed resolutions for me this year. Just goals to strive for! Did you make any resolutions?? To see what some of my blogger friends had to say, check out this link:

http://weiseracademy.com/2013/01/02/new-years-resolutions.aspx

Leave a Reply

