Praying without ceasing…

Okay, so I have to admit…lately my prayer life seems…well, a bit lackluster. I enjoy waking up in the morning to read my bible and spend time with the Lord, but I just feel like my prayers have become…rote, maybe? Like I keep saying the same thing over and over…the spark I used to have as I prayed and waited for God’s response just isn’t there. Maybe it’s because things are just so hard right now..or just because this is such a busy season in life…I don’t know, but I want the spark back!! I want the kind of prayer that leaves me feeling full of God. So, I have decided to make some changes.

What I want to do is spend a specific morning praying in depth over specific things. Like, Monday will be my day to pray for my husband and my marriage. While I will still pray for other things, as I feel the Lord’s leading, that will be my primary focus. I want to use scripture to pray over these things, and spend some time talking with God about them.

On Tuesdays, I will pray over my children and our homeschool. I will pray for wisdom and guidance, safety and protection, and other things as well. I plan to choose other things to pray about for the rest of the week as well, like our finances (always a source of prayer!), intercession for others, our church….etc. etc. For some reason, I just feel like concentrating on something specific each day will lead me to a more focused prayer life right now.

I believe that prayer is so important, and I have seen firsthand the impact it has had on my life. I know we all go through “seasons” where things can be rough, but I feel like I need to draw closer to God, and this is one of the ways I feel I can do so!

Leave a Reply

