A little of this, a little of that

It’s day two of our blog hop and today’s topic is “Schooling in the Kitchen”. First, let me say, cooking wasn’t always something I enjoyed. I never really learned how to cook at home, so making dinner for my family was a real chore. Early in  our marriage our meals were limited to Shake and Bake, spaghetti, burgers etc.

Since I started homeschooling and stopped working, I have found I have a real passion for cooking. I bought myself some cookbooks, a crock pot, and started watching a lot of cooking shows. I began sharing recipes with friends, and, I am happy to say, I now cook a variety of meals using fresh ingredients!!

All this to say, I think cooking is an important skill all of us should learn. I have no idea what God’s plans are for my children, or where they will end up when they leave home. However, I do want to make sure that when they leave, they are able to care for themselves, and to me, that means cooking, laundry and cleaning! So, my kids do spend a lot of time in the kitchen with me!!

My oldest son can make tacos, spaghetti, and mac and cheese, and he often assists me when I am making meals, so he is learning how to follow a recipe on his own. My youngest is quite adventurous. He once made cookies using the recipe on the back of the flour package!! Unfortunately, he used baking soda instead of baking powder and they didn’t come out quite right, but I think that was a lesson in itself.

Of course, the kitchen is a great place to teach fractions (very necessary when doubling a recipe), as well as practical skills like how to use basic kitchen tools and appliances. I think part of cooking also involves menu planning, so when I am working on our menus I try to involve my kids in deciding what to make, what ingredients we have or what we need etc. And yes, cooking in the kitchen with kids is frequently messier than when I am cooking alone, but, we also get a lot of time to talk and to laugh while we are cooking. In my kitchen, we don’t have a view of the television, so we use that time for conversation, and I wouldn’t trade that for anything 🙂

I am going to share some pictures from this last week when we made one of my boys favorites, chocolate chip cookies!! (I will be honest, sometimes I make them from scratch, but other times we just use a boxed mix 🙂 )

Little guy cracking the egg:

Big kid doing some measuring (he’s a little camera shy!)

Putting them on the pan. Watch the spacing!

The finished product:

To see how other members of the Crew do school in their kitchens, click here:
http://schoolhousereviewcrew.com/schooling-in-the-kitchen/

If you have any fun kitchen activities I can try out, leave me a comment! I hope to see you again tomorrow!

<a href=”

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

“>

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Leave a Reply

