Come Over to Our House!

The topic for this week’s blog cruise is “Our Homeschool Day in Pictures”. I’ve taken a lot of pictures in the last month, and my kids are in their pajamas for the majority of them! I am starting to wonder if I should at least make them get dressed at lunchtime. 🙂 I am so excited to read these posts and take a peek at what a day looks like at my fellow crew members homes! Here, I would like to share some pictures of what a “typical” day may look like for us (although, every day can be a little different 🙂 ). My oldest son is a little self conscious, so the pictures you see of him will most likely be from the back!

Our day starts with family Bible time. Although both of my kids have their own Bible studies (my oldest uses MFW and my youngest uses Apologia), we do start our day together with the Lord. We usually pray, and practice our weekly Bible verse, and we may do some discussion on a Bible passage. Right now we are working through a study of Psalms 37 using the Doorposts of your House blog that we are really enjoying! There is a new post every day, with a short study for moms and activities to do with your kids. It’s a great way to start our day!

From there, it’s on to individual work. My oldest goes over his planner with me, so we both agree on what he needs to accomplish that day. Then, he usually likes to work in his room, coming to me when he has a question. (I do make sure to check on him periodically, but since he is in high school now, he is taking over more responsibility for his work.)

He also does math and science on the computer in the living room.

Although we have a homeschool table in one corner of the main room, my youngest prefers to do his work on the coffee table and the couch!

Usually in the afternoon, once our book work is finished, we have time for some outdoor fun, which I like to call P.E.! My youngest has been getting into archery and bought his own bow and arrow. We do have an archery range he goes to with my husband occasionally, but he also likes to practice in the backyard:

Also, since we do live in Florida, the mild temperatures allow us to spend time in the pool!

At some point in the day, we manage to find some time for free reading with a friend!

And time for a little music:

And that would be a typical, normal day at my house when we don’t have anything going on!! If you looked closely, you will notice that my kids are in their pajamas for most of the pictures! That is because, in general, they remain in them most of the day until it is time to swim or go outside 🙂 Does my day resemble yours at all? Leave me a comment and let me know! To check out what other crew members days are like, click here:

Photobucket

6 thoughts on “Come Over to Our House!

  1. Pingback: Our Homeschool Day in Pictures | Schoolhouse Review Crew

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Posts of 2013 | kingdomacademyhomeschool

Leave a Reply

