God King: A Story in the days of King Hezekiah

The topic for this week’s blog cruise is “A good read”. Well, I love books, and we read a lot of them, so it was kind of hard for me to narrow this down to one book! 🙂 However, there is a book we read recently for our history studies that really stood out to my boys and I. God King: A Story in the Days of King Hezekiah by Joanne Williamson, was wonderful!

This book tells the story of Taharka, a minor prince in Egypt. When he unexpectedly becomes king after Pharaoh’s death, he is thrust into a story he never imagined being a part of. God King has all the elements of an exciting drama, as Taharka learns who he can, and cannot, trust and comes to understand what kind of king he wants to be. When he has to flee for his life, he is aided by Amos, a man from Judea, and through him, Taharka learns about the one true God.

We are currently studying Ancients in history, with my oldest using MFW and my youngest using Bright Ideas Press Illuminations. This book was a read aloud in Illuminations, but my older son ended up sitting with us everyday while we read it.

The problem with a lot of historical fiction for me is that it often feels “forced”. Like the author has to really manipulate the story to get it to fit the time period. That was not the case with God King. The history and the story weave together so perfectly, that you just get lost in the book! We read about two chapters a day, and my boys were always on the edge of their seats, wondering what would happen next. (So was I, but I admit I read ahead! 😉 ). The characters were authentic, and the story lines really made sense.

The best part was, the way biblical history was worked into the story. The saving of Jerusalem from Sennacherib, was very true to the biblical passage. In fact, after reading those chapters, we went back and read the biblical account and compared the two! I love the fact that this book made biblical history come alive for my kids!!

If you are studying the ancient time period, I would definitely suggest you add this story in. Even if you aren’t, if you are just looking for an exciting read aloud (particularly for boys) this book is it!!

Of course, I have loads of other books I could talk about too, and I’m thinking I may do a month of posts just about books 🙂 For now, to see other books crew members recommend, check out the blog cruise, here:

Photobucket

3 thoughts on “God King: A Story in the days of King Hezekiah

  1. Pingback: A Good Read (A Blog Cruise) | Schoolhouse Review Crew

  2. Pingback: A Good Read (A Blog Cruise) | Schoolhouse Review Crew

Leave a Reply

