Growing Up

That is my baby…or, I should say, that WAS my baby about 11 years ago. In a week or so, this “baby” will be 12! I can’t believe it….my oldest son will be driving soon, and my baby is almost a teenager! GASP! I’m not ready, and this makes me feel OLD! 🙂 As I sit here today, pondering the fact that my children seem to be growing up much faster than I imagined, a few things occur to me.

First, I am so completely thankful that we are able to homeschool. Because we do, I still get to spend all of my time with these boys, so I can soak up every precious moment I can before they leave our home. Secondly, I am thankful we homeschool because it has allowed us to keep our kids younger for longer. Even though this boy is turning 12, he doesn’t act like a lot of 12 year olds we know. He still loves his “stuffies” that cover his bed, he loves superheroes and legos and cartoons, and he still likes to crawl into mom’s lap for a snuggle, and listen to me read to him. Those are things that make this moms heart swell with joy.

Captain America is his favorite superhero ever! We have a Captain America costume from two years ago that he still wears, sometimes just because he feels like being “Cap”. His room is full of Captain America playsets and action figures, and the shield he got a few Christmases ago is still one of his favorite toys. This boy has an incredible imagination, and he amuses himself for hours playing “Avengers” in the backyard. He isn’t afraid to play pretend, he doesn’t feel the need to be glued to a cell phone or facebook like many of his friends. He just wants to have a good time, and I love that about him. I think that because we homeschool, we have been able to extend his childhood just a little bit longer and encourage his imagination, and I think that is a good thing!

This boy is also my crazy, free-spirit who will try anything. We have a hot dog stand nearby that has at least 50 different crazy hot dogs. When we moved into our house, my son determined he was going to go there and try them all. Whenever we stop there for lunch (about every couple weeks, it’s nearby and cheap 🙂 ) he tries some new outrageous hot dog!! Like hot dogs fried in tortillas with sour cream and guacamole and bacon!! But that is just who he is. My son is completely unafraid to try new things. He is not inhibited by worrying about what other people will think, or trying to fit in with the crowd. I think part of that is because we homeschool as well. He isn’t faced with the pressure of “fitting in” everyday, he just gets to be who he is!

Finally, I will say that this boy has an incredible sense of humor! He is the resident family prankster (much to his older brother’s chagrin 😉 ) and if you find yourself covered in toothpaste, or water, or with play doh in your shoes, he is the likely culprit! My youngest just loves to make people laugh, and he is good at it. He is the kind of kid that will introduce himself to the new kid in the neighborhood and instantly become friends. Or, he will notice that child sitting alone at a gathering and ask if they want to play. He is very sensitive to the feelings of others and likes to make people happy.

I love my goofy, silly, carefree, creative and loving boy so very much! While it is hard for me to accept that he is growing up, I am excited to see the life the Lord has planned for him. I guess that as my kids get older I see the importance of homeschooling them even more. I want my kids to grow up to be themselves, not carbon copies of their friends. I want to encourage their unique gifts, talents, and personalities, and I feel like I can best do that when they are home with me. So, Happy Birthday little man, I am so proud you call me mom, and so very glad that my days are spent with you.

Leave a Reply

