Booklovers Anonymous: Skippyjon Jones

I love books! Seriously, I have shelves and shelves of books in my house. As a young girl I must have checked out out every Nancy Drew book from the library at least three times. I started collecting books to read to my own children when I was in high school. When I was teaching, I was known as the “book lady” in the middle school wing. I read out loud to my students daily, and when I had a student that was searching for something to read, they often came to me for advice. In my dream home, I would have room to create my own library, but alas, my books are merely scattered on shelves throughout my house.

So, I decided that I am going to dedicate some time on my blog to share my favorite books with you. Every Thursday I will be writing about a new book as part of my Booklovers Anonymous series! (and, if I can ever figure out how to create a button and host a linky, I may even start a link-up so you can share your favorites too! Unfortunately, my tech skills lag far behind my writing skills, so I’m not there yet). The books will be a mix of picture books and chapter books representing just about every genre. I decided to start with one of my favorite picture books to read aloud to my kids, Skippyjon Jones by Judy Schachner.

I stumbled upon this book at a book fair long ago, and bought it to read to my kids. It quickly became one of their favorites. Today, they are 12 and 15 years old and there are days they will still grab this book off the shelf and ask me to read it to them! The story centers around Skippyjon, a Siamese cat with a wild imagination. The little kitty boy often gets in trouble and is sent to his room by his frustrated mama cat! While in his room, Skippyjon likes to jump on his bed and imagine he is a chihuahua. In this book, he goes on an adventure with Los Chimichangos (a small band of chihuahuas) to defeat Alfredo Buzzito, the bee that has been stealing all the beans in Mexico.

The infectious chorus must be read with an accent, and the hijinks of Skippyjon and his friends will have you and your kids laughing out loud. This is also one of my husband’s favorite books to read to our kids because he enjoyed it so much. In the last ten years, Skippyjon has gone on to have several adventures and has spawned a series of books, and we are still adding to our collection.

This is a great book to read just for fun, but if you visit the Skippyjon Jones website you will find printables and lesson ideas for use with younger children.

My boys loved this book so much that when we adopted our kitty from the animal shelter four years ago, they decided to name him Skippy in honor of their favorite character!

Our real-life Skippyjon!

So, if you haven’t heard of Skippyjon Jones yet, you should really check him out! Are you already a fan of the little mischievous kitty boy? Let me know in the comments! And if you have a favorite book of your own feel free to share! See you next week 🙂

Every bed of Roses

5 thoughts on “Booklovers Anonymous: Skippyjon Jones

Leave a Reply

