Our Favorite Christmas Books

I love Christmas! And I love books! So, being a part of a Christmas Books Round Up sounded like a great idea for me. Now, I must say I have enough Christmas books on the shelf to read a different one every night of December. However, for this post, I decided to write about two of my favorites.

The first is a little advent book we use as part of our Christmas devotional. The Angel and The Christmas Rabbit consists of 24 short stories. The premise is a little angel is sent down from heaven to find a gift for baby Jesus. He stumbles upon an old rabbit, and the two begin exchanging stories. Each story is both humorous and heartwarming. I check this book out from our library every year. We read one story each night, along with a Bible passage and then another Christmas book before we do our advent calendar. When my boys were younger, I would read the book to them, but now they like taking turns reading the stories out loud themselves!

The Polar Express

The Polar Express is a Christmas classic at this point. As you can see from the cover, I bought this book in 1998, the year my oldest son celebrated his first Christmas. I became a fan of Chris Van Allsburg when I was in college studying education. We have several of his books on our shelves, and they are all fantastic. By the time The Polar Express movie came out, my kids could recite this book from memory. We have a tradition that this is the very first Christmas book we read each year, and it is also the one we read on Christmas Eve. I have a feeling my boys will continue this tradition when they have their own children, because they just love it so much!

Now, I can think of several other Christmas favorites in my family, but I couldn’t write about them all in one post. Here are some of the others on our list:

1. Merry Christmas Big Hungry Bear

2. Santa’s Stuck

3. Snowmen at Christmas

4. Are You Grumpy Santa?

5. A New Improved Santa

And those are just some of them! Do you have a favorite Christmas book I should check out? Let me know in the comments. Check out more posts about great Christmas books here:

Christmas Books

Leave a Reply

