Booklovers Anonymous: Inkheart

 

Growing up on a farm as an only child, books and animals were my friends and playmates. How I longed to enter the world of my books! I wanted to solve mysteries with Nancy Drew and Trixie Belden. I dreamed about going with Alice down the rabbit hole and visiting the Shire. That’s why the book I am talking about this week is so close to my heart. Inkheart by Cornelia Funke is about a girl named Meggie, whose father, Mo (a bookbinder) has the ability to make the world of books real!

Inkheart by Cornelia Funke

On the inside page of the book is printed one of my favorite Shel Silverstein Poems, “Invitation”, which to me, speaks to the heart of what all books are about. Inviting you to another world where you can experience all sorts of great things.

In the course of Inkheart, Meggie and her father have to fight Capricorn and his gang, whom Meggie’s father accidentally read out of a book a long time ago. Another character who helps them is Dustfinger, a man who longs to return to his family in the book world. Meggie also discovers that her mother was accidentally trapped in the world of books when Dustfinger and the others were brought out. It is an exciting read, suitable for 4th grade and up, and great as a read aloud for anyone. There was also an Inkheart movie starring Brendan Fraser.

Online, Scholastic has a few resources for Inkheart, including a guide with suggested questions, an activity page with quizzes, and suggested writing lessons

Web English teacher also has a page with links to other resources for the book.

If you or your child enjoy fantasy books with rich characters, I would encourage you to check Inkheart out! Thanks for joining me this week. Next week, I will be sharing another of my favorite picture books. Be sure to come back and check it out!

3 thoughts on “Booklovers Anonymous: Inkheart

Leave a Reply

