TOS Review: Maestro Classics

Maestro Classics ReviewI believe that music education is so important, but finding a way to make classical music exciting for my children has proven difficult. So, I was very happy to get a chance to review two CDs from Maestro Classics with my kids. I had been eyeballing their products for a while because they seemed to be a perfect fusion of music and storytelling. And I have to say, they far exceeded my expectations! We got to listen to The Sorcerer’s Apprentice and Casey at the Bat.

Maestro Classics ReviewThe first CD we listened to was The Sorcerer’s Apprentice. Now of course, when I think of this story I can’t help but picture Mickey in his sorcerer’s hat, but my son has not watched Fantasia in a long time, so I don’t think he saw it that way. First of all, the music for the Maestro CDs is expertly played by the London Philharmonic Orchestra. But, what really caught my son’s attention was the narration. As he listened to the music, he was also carried away by the story and even asked me to replay it a second time. In addition, the CD contains a separate recording of the March of the Brooms as well as information about the music, and even a play-along using pots and pans from the kitchen!!

Maestro Classics The Sorcerer’s Apprentice

Each CD is accompanied by a small booklet that contains information about the orchestra, the composers, the instruments, and fun activities for your child to complete. Also, the Maestro Classics website has links for extra resources like study guides, sheet music, and crafts. The Sorcerer’s Apprentice is listed for ages six and up, but I think the whole family would enjoy it.

Maestro Classics ReviewThe second CD we got to review was the story of Casey at the Bat. I chose this CD because my youngest is a baseball fan, so I thought he would appreciate the story and I think this is the CD he enjoyed the most. This CD includes so much more than just the famous poem and the “Casey Tango” composed by Stephen Simon, it also includes the Casey March performed by Michigan State University, the Flight of the Rabbit, and more. The booklet has a copy of the poem as well as activities related to music and baseball.

Casey at the Bat–Maestro Classics

Casey at the Bat is appropriate for all ages and will definitely entertain the family whether you are in the car or at home.

So, the big question is, what did we think of Maestro Classics?? Well, I say we give them a big two thumbs up. Since we first listened to the CDs together, I have caught my younger son listening to Casey in his room while playing with his Legos. He even asked me if we could get the Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel CD! As a mom, I feel like this is a great way to introduce classical music to children that makes it fun and exciting. The CDs for The Sorcerer’s Apprentice and Casey at the Bat cost $16.98 each and they are also available for MP3 download for $9.98. Personally, I prefer an old-fashioned CD myself!! I think the cost is well worth it, because I have a feeling your kids will want to listen to them over and over again.

To find out more about Maestro Classics, check out their media pages:

Maestro Classics on Facebook

Maestro Classics on Twitter

Maestro Classics on Pinterest

To see what other members of the crew had to say about  Maestro and the other products they offered, click here:
Click to read Crew Reviews

Crew Disclaimer

One thought on “TOS Review: Maestro Classics

  1. Pingback: Real Life Homeschool: Schooling on the Go | kingdomacademyhomeschool

Leave a Reply

