It’s a Wrap!

Bring on summer!

We are closing in on having about three weeks left in our school year and my boys are ready to trade in their books for bathing suits!! We follow a traditional calendar around here, so summer vacation is on the horizon. The end of the year is always a little bittersweet for me. On the one hand, by this time I am usually ready for a break too, but on the other hand, I realize that next year I will have an 11th grader and an 8th grader and that scares me a little!! So, how are we wrapping things up? Well first, I have a LOT of paperwork to do (ugh!). All that stuff I was supposed to be filing all year?? Well, it is sitting in strategically placed piles glaring at me right now.

Papers papers papers!

Sigh….it’s my own fault, I know it. Every year I swear that THIS is the year I am going to finally stay organized! I WILL file and grade every week! I WILL NOT get behind and let stuff pile up until I start to feel like Sylvia Stout! And…every year I start off great. But then, I don’t know, life just seems to happen and stuff gets busy and there is a crisis or two (or four, or seven!!) and the next thing I know I am knee-deep in stuff!! So, my job for the next three week is to sort through all this stuff and put it away. Maybe next year will be my year! đŸ˜‰

The next part of our year-end wrap up is deciding what my kids may need to read or touch up over the summer. My older son has some speech lessons to complete to finish out his credit, and they both have some reading they will be doing. Beyond that, they pretty much finished everything, and my youngest will continue with the second half of Mystery of History Vol. III next year.

New school stuff!

One of the fun parts of wrapping up the school year (at least for me) is starting to plan our next year! Oh how I love curriculum. Seriously, if there were a job called “professional curriculum shopper and try-outer” I would apply! I definitely have some old standards we use from year to year, but for areas like science and electives, I love to try new things. I’m also thinking about looking into some geography for my youngest next year too. So, I will be surfing the web and waiting for boxes in the coming weeks, which always makes me happy!

On our last day of school we usually go out to breakfast at a favorite local restaurant, then end the day at the beach. I can’t believe how fast this year has flown by! In fact, writing this post has made me realize just how much I have to get done in the next three weeks so I guess I better start today!

How do you wrap up your year? Let me know in the comments! And check out what other crew members had to say at our Crew Carnival here: (goes live 5/12/14)

Wrapping Up the Homeschool Year

Leave a Reply

