TOS Review: Stinky Kid Math

Stinky Kid Math ReviewMath was my least favorite subject when I was in school and it is still my least favorite subject now. However, I still need to teach it to my kids. At the elementary level, that’s not too difficult. However, as they get older, explaining more advanced concepts becomes a lot more challenging. So, I was excited to get to review Stinky Kid Math, a website that offers video lessons and worksheets for upper level math classes.

Stinky Kid Math offers classes in Foundational Algebra, which covers Pre-Algebra and Algebra I, Complex Algebra, which covers Algebra I&II, and Geometry. I had my 8th/9th grade boy start with the Foundational Algebra lessons. The courses are well organized around topics, and you could easily choose to focus on specific topics if you wanted to, but we just started with the first lesson. Basically, each section has a series of videos (these can range anywhere from three to ten so far) that the child watches. The videos themselves are only a few minutes each and focus on one specific thing. For example, in the section on Algebra Properties, there was one video each for the Commutative Property, Associative Property, and Distributive Property, and they were less than three minutes each.

The instructor is very easy to follow, and uses a chalkboard with nice, bright chalk to illustrate his lesson. Each section also contains a link to a PDF file of a textbook lesson on that specific subject, so you and your child can also read the lesson and see more written examples if you wish. This is good because it accommodates different learning styles. There is also a link for printable worksheets to go along with the lessons, and the worksheets include an answer key. I found these very helpful.

Now, once we got started on Stinky Kid Math, my son was able to pretty much do it on his own. The video lessons are really, really clear, and he only occasionally needed my help figuring things out. He was even able to (finally) get distributive property! While the program is not certified as a full curriculum and is designed to serve as more of a supplement, I am currently using it as our main math until I get enough money together to purchase a curriculum for this year. Right now, I feel like it gives us plenty of math. My son completes one section a day at the moment, unless it has a lot of videos, in which case I break it up into parts.

I really like the fact that it has worksheets I can print to go along with the lessons. I feel like this allows my son to immediately practice what he just learned and allows me to see right away whether he got it or not. If I feel like he didn’t really understand something, we watch the lesson together again, and then he repeats the worksheet, or I look for another worksheet on the same topic from somewhere else.

Stinky Kid Math also offers fun math games that allow students to practice basic fundamentals like converting fractions and decimals, understanding shapes, and adding and subtracting positive and negative numbers while having fun. Access to the program costs $9.99 per month.

To learn more about Stinky Kid Math, connect with them on Social Media here:
Stinky Kid Math on Facebook

Stinky Kid Math on Twitter

To see what other members of the crew thought about this program, click here:
Stinky Kid Math Review

Crew Disclaimer

One thought on “TOS Review: Stinky Kid Math

  1. Pingback: Crew Blog Hop: Tips for Choosing Curriculum | kingdomacademyhomeschool

Leave a Reply

