Italian Polenta Casserole

Polenta was a staple of my childhood, but I have to admit, it’s not something I’ve used a whole lot in my own cooking. So, after having this dish at my mom’s, I asked her to pass on the recipe to me so I could try it at home. I love casseroles because of their easy, one-dish design, and this one made a lot so we had some for lunch the next day. It did take me a while to find the Polenta in the store (mine was in the produce section near the tofu).

Ingredients:

1 lb. ground beef

2 medium zucchini

1 tube basil and garlic polenta

1 jar pasta sauce (I like to use the large 32 oz. jar)

1 bag shredded Italian cheese

Olive Oil cooking spray

2 tbsp. Olive Oil

1 tsp. Italian seasoning

1 tsp. Garlic Salt

1/4 tsp. Pepper

1/4 tsp. Salt

Directions:

  1. Cut the zucchini in half, then slice diagonally into pieces.
  2. Cut the Polenta into about 8 slices.

3. Spray each side of the Polenta with the Olive Oil cooking spray and cook in a skillet over medium-high heat for about 3-4 minutes on each side, until they turn light brown. Place them in a casserole dish.

4. Next, add the meat and the seasonings to the pan and brown. Drain the meat and set aside.

5. Add the olive oil to the skillet and saute the zucchini slices for 3-4 minutes until tender.

6. Return the meat to the pan and add the pasta sauce. Cook until everything is heated through.

7. Spoon the meat mixture on top of the Polenta and cover with the shredded cheese. Bake at 375 for about 20 minutes until the cheese is melted.

Serve with a salad and some garlic bread and you are done!

I liked this a lot and think I will be adding this to our regular rotation! Thanks for stopping by. Check out more new recipes here:

2 thoughts on “Italian Polenta Casserole

  1. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday 12/14/15 | kingdomacademyhomeschool

  2. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday 2/13/17 | kingdomacademyhomeschool

Leave a Reply

