Juevos Rancheros

On Christmas Eve morning, I made this very easy Juevos Rancheros recipe for my family for breakfast. I used to have this for breakfast all the time in the mornings when I was in high school, because I could roll it up burrito style and eat it while running out the door when I was late for class. My hubby and kids loved it.

Ingredient:

4 tortillas

4 eggs

1 can black beans

1 jar salsa

shredded cheese (any kind-I used cheddar)

1/2 bunch cilantro, chopped

Salt and pepper to taste

Olive oil to coat the pan

Directions:

  1. Heat some olive oil in one small skillet to fry the tortillas.
  2. Add each tortilla one by one and fry for a few minutes on each side until they begin to bubble and brown, then remove them to the plates.
  3. Drain and rinse the beans and add them to a larger skillet with the salsa and cilantro. Cook over medium heat for 5-7 minutes until heated through, then reduce heat to low to keep warm.

4. Cook the eggs in the first skillet, frying them over-medium or over-hard, depending on your preference. I find the key to frying the perfect egg is to crack it and wait for the white to set completely before flipping it over.

5. Place the egg on the tortilla and top with the warm beans and salsa and some of the cheese.

I served this with some bacon too. It’s funny of course, how quickly teenage boys will spring out of bed even early in the morning when they know there’s bacon in the kitchen! Usually I have to drag them out of bed kicking and screaming, but if I cook bacon, watch out! Thanks for stopping by, check out more recipes here:

Leave a Reply

