Random Thoughts from an Exhausted Mom

Do you ever have those moments where you feel like you are just barely keeping it together? I’m in one of those right now. We are in the middle of a move. On the one hand, it’s exciting because after six years of renting we have bought our own house! On the other hand, I honestly feel like my life is totally upside down right now.

There are boxes everywhere, in both houses. I can’t find anything. The move happened quickly, and while I began packing very carefully and dutifully labled each box with its contents and wrapped everything etc. etc., towards the end, we just started throwing stuff in boxes to get it done.

I tried to get back to homeschooling today. I quickly discovered that most of what we needed wasn’t here. My son managed to do his math and some of his computer work, but he’s just as tired as I am and not having everything together doesn’t help. I hate feeling like everything is out of control. It drives me nuts and kind of paralyzes me. Like, there is just SO much to do, I feel completely overwhelmed and I don’t even know where to start.

I know things will calm down, and when they do I will be extremely thankful for all of this, but right now, I’m just trying to hold on. If I never see another packing box again after all this it will be too soon! And why does the packing tape always have to get stuck? Whenever you try to fix it, it always tears off diagonally and then you have pull back loads of tape to get it lined up right again!

I had planned a whole bunch of healthy (and I thought easy) meals for us during this time so I could stay on track for my diet. Nope, it’s been a steady flow of pizza and other take out meals since we started. I just don’t have the energy to cook. Also, you know how when you move to a new house you have to get used to all the noises it makes at night? Let’s just say I haven’t been sleeping well either!!

So here I am, moving from room to room, trying to tackle one project at a time while still maintaining some kind of order in our lives. Not sure if I’m doing a good job at that, but I’m trying. I guess we’ll be doing some summer school this year to make up for the lost time. I hope you are having a good week. And the next time I move, I swear I’m leaving everything in the house and starting over!!

Leave a Reply

